A Guide to Utah’s Marijuana Possession Laws

In the state of Utah, marijuana is a Schedule I substance. The amount of the drug and the nature of the acts associated with its possession determine the defendant’s charges and penalties. Under Utah’s laws, these are punishable crimes, listed in ascending order of severity.

  • Possession of drug paraphernalia
  • Possession with the intent to distribute
  • Sale, delivery, or distribution of paraphernalia or marijuana
  • Harvesting or growing cannabis
  • Importation and exportation

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

A defendant’s potential punishment depends on the amount of the drug they have at the time they’re arrested. The amount of cannabis also determines whether they face felony or misdemeanor charges. Below is a breakdown of Utah’s marijuana possession punishments.

  • Up to an ounce is a Class B misdemeanor, with a jail sentence of up to six months and $1940 in fines.
  • Possession of an amount between one ounce and one pound, or possession of any amount in a park, church, or school may result in Class A misdemeanor charges. Here, a defendant may get up to one year in jail, $4790 in fines, and other penalties.
  • Possession of one to 100 pounds is a third-degree felony. Defendants face up to five years in state prison and up to $9540 in fines.
  • Possession of over 100 pounds is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in state prison and $19,040 in fines.

Penalties for Marijuana Distribution in Utah

Transactions involving cannabis, such as distribution and sale, carry stiffer punishments than simple possession. For first offenders, distribution of any quantity of cannabis is a third-degree felony, carrying a $5000 fine and a prison sentence of up to five years. Distribution of marijuana in drug-free zones, as well as second convictions, may increase potential penalties and felony classification.

Consult a Qualified Defense Attorney Today

Anyone who has been charged with marijuana possession, sales, trafficking, or cultivation may face severe penalties, and they shouldn’t fight these charges alone. Consult an experienced criminal defense attorney like Aric Cramer to learn more about legal options for cannabis possession charges. Visit the site to learn more or call the firm to schedule a consultation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *